Registered Teacher Training Colleges in Kenya, Public and Private

by | Last updated Nov 13, 2023 | EDUCATION

Teachers training colleges in Kenya per county

Teachers Service Commission (TSC) in has put in place very strict conditions that must be met before being registered as a teacher in Kenya. To become a teacher in Kenya, you need to complete a diploma in education or degree for primary and secondary school teachers, or a diploma in ECDE for pre-primary teachers. It is important to make sure you meet the minimum requirements set by the Teachers Service Commission (TSC) before pursuing this career. Consider enrolling in one of the teacher training colleges that is fully approved by the Kenya National Examinations Council (KNEC) for the best training experience.

In addition, for a secondary school teacher in Kenya, you need to have a minimum of C+ in KCSE and C+ in two teaching subjects, and a C plain or above in English and mathematics (with a D+ for education arts or C plain for education science).

Read: How to Become a TSC Teacher in Kenya, Secondary and Primary.

It is important to choose a reputable TTC college that offers KNEC exams to avoid scams.

College ahead sign

Here is a list of accredited and registered public and private teacher training colleges in Kenya, and their counties of operation. Some of these teacher training colleges (TTC) offer ECDE training programmes.

List of Registered Public Teacher Training Colleges in Kenya, per County

  1.  Asumbi Teachers College, ATC, Homa Bay county
  2.  Baringo Teachers Training College, BTTC, Baringo county
  3.  Bondo Teachers Training College, Siaya county
  4. Bomet Teachers’ Training College, Bomet county
  5. Bungoma Teachers’ Training College, Bungoma county
  6. St. Lawrence Egoji Teachers college, Meru county
  7. Eregi Teachers’ Training College, Vihiga county
  8.  Garissa Teachers Training college, Garissa county
  9. Kaimosi Teachers’ Training College, Vihiga county
  10. Meru Teachers’ Training College, Meru county
  11. Mosoriot Teachers’ Training College, Nandi county
  12. Murang’a Teachers College, Murang’a county
  13.   Machakos Teachers Training College, Machakos county
  14. Maragua Teachers Training College, Murang’a county
  15. Migori Teachers Training College, Migori county
  16. Narok Teachers College, Narok county
  17. Shanzu Teachers’ Training College, Mombasa county
  18.  Tambach Teachers Training College, Elgeyo Marakwet
  19. Trans-Nzoia Teachers’ Training College, Trans Nzoia county
  20. Kamwenja Teachers Training College, Nyeri county
  21.  Kenya Science Teachers College, Nairobi county
  22. Kericho Teachers College, Kericho county
  23. Thogoto Teachers Training College, Kiambu county
  24. Kagumo Teachers College, Nyeri county
  25. Moi-Baringo Teachers’ College, Baringo county

List of Registered Private Teachers Training Colleges

  1. Kamagambo Adventist College, Nyeri
  2.  Nakuru Teachers’ Training College, Nakuru county
  3.  Masai Teachers’ Training College, Narok county
  4.  Consolata College, Nairobi
  5.  International Teachers Training College, Nairobi
  6. Amicus Group of Schools, Nairobi
  7.  Bible College of East Africa, Nairobi
  8.  Blescohouse Teachers Training College, Nakuru
  9. Bunks Early Childhood Education College, Nakuru
  10. C.F.K. Teachers Training College, Nairobi
  11. Carol Teachers Training College, Nairobi
  12. Christ the Teacher Institute for Education, Nairobi
  13.   Deans E.C.D. College, Nairobi
  14. Deans Teacher Training College, Nairobi
  15. Glad Toto Early Childhood Teachers Training Centre, Nairobi
  16.  International Montessori School, Nairobi
  17. International Teachers Training College, Nairobi
  18.  Islamic Teachers’ Training College -Maragua,
  19. Jerusa Teachers Training College, Jttc – Butere, Kakamega county
  20.  Jomaken ECD Pre-Primary Teachers Training Programme & Care Centre, Nairobi
  21. Nyanchwa Teachers Training College, Kisii county
  22. Nyeri Catholic Centre for Early Childhood Education Development, Nyeri
  23. Nyeri Catholic Early Childhood Development Education Teachers Training College (ECDE TTC), Nyeri
  24. Orthodox Teachers Training College of Africa, Nairobi
  25.  Presbyterian Teachers College Rubate, Meru county
  26. Premese Montessori, Nairobi
  27. Special Education & Professional Studies College, Nairobi county
  28. St. Ann’s ECD Teachers College, Kisii county
  29. St. Austin’s Teachers Training College – Ishiara, Embu county
  30.  St. John’s Teachers Training College – Thika
  31.  St. Martin De Porres Teachers College – Kiserian
  32. St. Paul’s Nyabururu Teachers Training College, Kisii county
  33. Sunrise Teachers College – Athi River, Machakos county
  34.  Tec Teachers Training Institute – Nairobi
  35. Thika E.C.D. Academy – Thika
  36. Total Care Pre-School Teachers College, Nairobi

Also read:

  1. TSC County Directors in Kenya and Their Contacts
  2. TSC Hardship Areas for Teachers
  3. Teachers Basic Salary in Kenya and the New TSC Grading System

Join the Discussion


  1. Kahendi Sharon

    Is international ttc fully accredited??


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending This Week

Recent Posts

Grade 7 Junior Secondary Textbooks Approved by KICD

Grade 7 Junior Secondary Textbooks Approved by KICD

The Kenya Institute of Curriculum Design (KICD) has published a list of approved textbooks and novels for all the learning areas (subjects) in the CBC curriculum for junior secondary school grade 7 level in Kenya. Parents and schools are advised to buy books from the...

List of Grade 6 CBC Course Books Approved by KICD

List of Grade 6 CBC Course Books Approved by KICD

The Kenya Institute of Curriculum Development (KICD) has approved a list of grade 6 CBC course books and materials for implementing the CBC curriculum in all primary schools in Kenya. Parents and schools are advised to purchase the grade 6 textbooks and course...

UbaPesa Loan App: How to Download and Apply Loan

UbaPesa Loan App: How to Download and Apply Loan

UbaPesa is a peer-to-peer lending and borrowing app that connects borrowers with lenders in Kenya through the money market platform. Once you have downloaded and installed the UbaPesa loan app, you automatically become both a lender and a borrower. You can borrow...

How to Download HFC Whizz App, Apply and Repay Loan

How to Download HFC Whizz App, Apply and Repay Loan

HFC Whizz app is a digital banking product of the Housing Finance Cooperation Ltd in Kenya that enables you to deposit money into your account, transfer money between banks, open savings accounts, pay for goods and services, and apply for an instant loan, among other...

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This