Kenya President and DP
Photo Courtesy

Cabinet Secretaries in Kenya and Their Roles 2021

The Kenyan cabinet is composed of the President, the Deputy President, the Attorney General, and Cabinet Secretaries. The 2010 constitution permits a maximum of 22 ministries.

Upon being nominated by the President, the ministers or cabinet secretaries must be vetted and approved by the National Assembly before joining the cabinet.

Cabinet Secretaries are accountable both individually and collectively, to the President for the exercise of their powers and the performance of their functions.

A Cabinet Secretary (CS) can resign in writing or be dismissed by the President of the Republic of Kenya.

Prof. George Magoha Cabinet Secretary for Education
Prof. George Magoha being sworn in as CS. Education

There are currently 21 cabinet secretaries in Kenya appointed by the president.

Current Members of the Cabinet

  1. The President of the Republic of Kenya: Hon. Uhuru Kenyatta
  2. The Deputy President: Hon. Dr. William Ruto
  3. Attorney General: Hon. Paul Kihara Kariuki

Current Cabinet Secretaries in Kenya

Cabinet Secretary Ministry in Charge of
Monica Juma Defense
Najib Balala Tourism and Wildlife
Raychelle Omamo Foreign Affairs
Amina Mohamed Sports, Culture and Heritage
Sicily Kariuki Water & Sanitation and Irrigation
Eugene Wamalwa Devolution and ASAL Areas
Dr. Fred Matiang’i Interior and Coordination of National Government
Charles Keter Energy
George Magoha Education
John Munyes Petroleum and Mining
Joe Mucheru Information Communication Technology ICT, Innovation and Youth Affairs
Margaret Kobia Public Service and Gender Affairs
Mutahi Kagwe Health
Peter Munya Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries and Cooperatives
Keriako Tobiko Environment and Forestry
James Macharia Transport, Infrastructure, Housing and Urban Development
Farida Karoney Lands & Physical Planning
Adan Muhamed East African Community & Regional Development
Betty Maina Industrialization, Trade and Enterprise Development
Simon Chelugui Labor & Social Services
Ukur Yattani National Treasury and Planning
Read Also:   How to Apply for TSC Duplicate Certificate, Requirements and Bank Payment Details

Also Read:

  1. Names of Senators in Kenya and their Counties
  2. List of Counties in Kenya and their Governors